Wendy's Writing Project Blog

Writing in the 21st Century June 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 3:45 am

As I began reading Yancy’s “Writing in the 21st Century”, I wondered if I might find a particular historical perception that failed me and tainted my enjoyment of writing.  I didn’t.

I did, however, pause and reflect on how we might consider making the ever-changing curriculum best meet the needs of our students.  Yes, we should consider successful past practice and incorporate them into our classrooms as we integrate more and more technology.  It is also an opportune time to look at things that aren’t working.  Are the “multiple models” of writing serving our kids well?  With so many different things going on, are we allowing our kids or even ourselves to become well-phrased and practiced?

 

One Response to “Writing in the 21st Century”

  1. scottfilkins Says:

    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, Wendy. As we’ve striven to keep up with change, we’ve taken a primarily additive approach. They need this. And now this. And now this and this. That’s one of the things that attracted me to the idea of genre inquiry: we can’t teach it all, so let’s relax and teach habits of mind that can serve kids in a number of situations.


Leave a Reply

