Wendy's Writing Project Blog

12 of 33 July 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 4:26 am

How is it I have started so many posts (33 to be exact), but have published so few? It still involves taking a big risk to push that “publish” button. So much effort has been put into trying to get me to see myself as a writer. After four intense weeks, I know I’m suppose to say I’m a writer. I believe it is what my audience wants to hear. I truly believe that my kids are writers. Yet, if I go by my own definition, I’ll never be a writer. That would be an insult to the profession! However, I am a communicator of ideas.  If we stick to Merriam-Webster’s definition of “one that writes”; then, yes, I am a writer.

Past practice indicates that the blog stops here. My final project, an e-portfolio, is turned in. When I look back at blogs from past Summer Institutes, few have continued the practice. I wonder why? Do they consider themselves to be writers? I have good intentions to continue to write. I certainly have enough ideas to work on. Who knows? Maybe I’ll whittle away some of the 21 that remain unpublished.

 

2 Responses to “12 of 33”

  1. Patrick Berry Says:

    Not believe in yourself as a writer! You might as well not believe in fairies! You might get your papa to hire men to watch in all the NWP Summer Institutes to catch the non-writer, but even if they did not see a writer coming down, what would that prove? Nobody sees a writer, but that is no sign that there is no writer. The most real things in the world are those that neither children nor men and women can see. Did you ever see fairies dancing on the lawn? Of course not, but that’s no proof that they are not there. Nobody can conceive or imagine all the wonders there are unseen and unseeable in the world. Yes, Wendy, Webster’s right and so is the NWP, you are a writer. Amen.

    Adapted from “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus”: http://www.newseum.org/yesvirginia/

  2. Dave Stone Says:

    I think we should all keep blogging. Why? First, it’s fun to break non-productive tradition. Second, it keeps our month of self-focus going, which all of us like!


Leave a Reply

