Wendy's Writing Project Blog

Heaven or Hell August 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 1:44 pm

A Virginia Beach sunrise

I can’t decide where my vacation is taking me. Things seemed to be going fine following a 540 mile drive on Saturday… until my dad backed into a car in a parking lot. I was enjoying my Sunday at Jamestown and Yorktown… until we saw flashing lights in the rear view mirror for going the wrong way on a one way, deserted scenic drive that was lacking escape routes. Last night my mother, after two glasses of wine, decided to give me (and certainly others trying to enjoy their nice meal) indigestion after announcing to the restaurant that ‘we’ were a Fox News family. Instead of inciting a riot, I decided to excuse myself from the table. And this morning, as I wait for the sun to rise over the Atlantic, I am witness to an professional public urinater. What makes him a pro, you ask? Instead of taking a more obvious path of relieving himself in the ocean, he targeted a lifeguard tower, took aim underneath, then accessed the lifeguard shovel to cover it up. I’m tempted to call it a considerable move, but I doubt it is something that happens in heaven.

 

3 Responses to “Heaven or Hell”

  1. Dave Stone Says:

    I think you’re still working with the heaven aspect. Everyone is getting along, and all of the things that are happening are the things that happen when you’re with your parents for an extended period of time. I think that’s why all of us grow up and move away.

    You’ll come away with positive memories of the experience and a whole bunch of stories. What could be better than that 🙂 ?!?!

  2. Patrick Says:

    I miss you Wendy! 🙂

  3. uiwpwendy Says:

    I tried to listen to you, Dave; but when we got to the hotel in DC, storms had collapsed part of our hotel’s ceiling! I’m sure THAT doesn’t happen in heaven either! The good news: I only worried about falling through the floors in the middle of the night. The floors didn’t collapse, and we made it home in one piece.

    Patrick– Missing you too. Enjoy having your girls back home! 🙂


Leave a Reply

