Wendy's Writing Project Blog

Writing Process 3.0 June 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 7:22 pm

The University of Illinois Summer Institute 2012 began this morning. I am, once again, surrounded by a group of dedicated and talented teachers. Illustrating the writing process has become a traditional kick-off activity. It is a great way to get to know other participants, and gets us thinking beyond content and conventions. Only a few got chance to share out with the whole group. Thankfully, a wise technology leader set the first blog assignment up to take care of that. I can’t wait to read (and see) how others portray their process.

My process is a messy one. You see, when I have a writing assignment, a big “W” goes up in the corner of my screen. Anyone who knows me, understands that my fear of storms can do more than consume me. Writing assignments are no different. The watch box stays on my screen until the tornado hits. (This is usually dangerously close to the deadline.) I am stressed the whole time, still I wait until the last possible minute. Destruction ensues. It wrecks havoc on my house, family members, and my brain. Sometimes the tornado is rain wrapped. This happens when I am frustrated and overwhelmed to the point of a meltdown. But the storm passes. There is light. Somehow, I make it through.

20120611-142217.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

