Wendy's Writing Project Blog

The Power of Choice June 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 9:51 am

Summer. The time of the year when I can wake up at a slower pace. I can decide if I want to go to 6:00 a.m. or 6:00 p.m. aerobics. I can decide if I want to go pull some weeds or fix the family breakfast. I can bike to school instead of drive. Not having piles of papers to grade, RtI data to evaluate, and lesson plans to write in the evening allows me more time to read. I’ve come out of hibernation to check my Twitter feed. And look here! I even found time to write. Having time to consider options and make choices is something I appreciate. Everyone does. It makes me a happier person and more pleasant to be around. Having time to engage in healthy reading and writing habits makes me a better teacher.

Reminding myself of the importance of how having choice has made me better shouldn’t feel foreign. Choice is something I want to believe I promote in my classroom, but I wonder if it is something that is in constant flux. Time and curricular constraints seem to limit the ability to chose. Or is it an excuse? I’ve always believed in seeking ways to intentionally incorporate choice, but I think I’ll work even harder. I’ll work hard to find the time and make it a priority. Maybe if you share a way you incorporate student choice, it would motivate me even more.

 

One Response to “The Power of Choice”

  1. Ellen Dahlke Says:

    i’m with you wendy. i’m increasingly aware of how, in our efforts to humanize our students’ experiences, we dehumanize ourselves — no choices, no rest, no exercise. not sure how to reconcile that inconsistency, though, without compromising the quality of service to students. which is a deal-breaker.


Leave a Reply

