Wendy's Writing Project Blog

A birthday after an author as mentor June 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — uiwpwendy @ 10:10 am

Johanna’s demonstration prompted us to write about a memorable birthday or an embarrassing event. She led us through using authors as mentors by sharing Sandra Cisneros’ short story, “Eleven”. We noted the use of meaningful repetition, internal and external dialogue, tone, and figurative language to be some of the treasures that we enjoyed. I opted to add repetition to a story about some birthday plans that were out of my hands. This is the result of my attempt to learn and remix from Cisneros…

At 40-something, any memorable birthday is a good birthday, but my friends went out of their way to make my 40th extra special. Beyond the matching football jerseys with the age plastered across the back the size of a pair of giant squid’s eyes, bless their hearts, my friends had a bigger surprise. They concocted a plan to take me to Florida. This is one of the many advantages to having a birthday that falls over Spring Break.  This is also one of the many advantages of having great friends.

I’m not sure what we did on my actual birthday. We celebrated the entire week– another reason why I may not remember the specifics. At 40-something, any memorable birthday is a good birthday. Regardless of the details, I know I had a wonderful time with incredible people.

 

Leave a Reply

